Treasurer / Public Trustee's Office

Due to concerns about the Coronavirus, the Treasurer’s Office requests that you pay your property taxes by personal check, cashier’s check or money order and not use cash payments. In order to pay in cash, you will need to make an appointment by calling (970) 382-6352.

The full payment deadline for property taxes continues to be April 30. The Governor issued an executive order forgiving interest on the first-half of property taxes only, and only through April 30.

Due to Coronavirus concerns, and the Governor’s order that people only go out for essential activities, the La Plata County Treasurer recommends that you pay your property taxes online. 

To find your account number: Property Tax Account Search 
If you know your account number: Pay Property Taxes Online

If you prefer to pay by check, and have a coupon with a scan line at the bottom, please mail that to: PO Box 912928, Denver, CO 80291.

If you do not have a coupon, mail your payment to:  PO Box 99, Durango, CO 81302. Be sure to include your property tax account number on your check.

If you have any questions, please call the Treasurer’s Office at 970-382-6352. We are happy to assist you.

NEWS ALERT *** Per Gov. Jared Polis' executive order, La Plata County property tax interest on delinquent first-half payments due in 2020 will be waived through April 30, 2020. Delinquent interest will accrue after April 30, per state statute (C.R.S. 39-10-104.5).

Per Gov. Jared Polis' executive order, the Public Trustee will extend certain deadlines of the foreclosure process through April 30, 2020. These include the recordation of a Notice of Election and Demand, mailing a Combined Notice, filing a Notice of Intent to Cure, mailing notice to the note-holder or attorney, tendering redemption funds, executing and recording a confirmation deed.

At a Glance


Allison Aichele
County Treasurer &
Public Trustee


Contact Information:      

679 Turner Drive, Suite B
Durango, CO 81301


P: 970-382-6352
F: 970-375-9405

Hours: Monday thru Friday
8:00am - 4:00pm

Email contact form


ACT Building

The County Treasurer’s Office is responsible for collecting, protecting and disbursing property tax dollars to La Plata County taxing authorities. These entities include the school districts, fire districts, metro districts (e.g. Three Springs, Forest Lakes, Edgemont Metro District, etc.). The authority for taxing rests with the residents of these areas and their respective boards of directors.

Per Colorado State law, taxpayers may make one full payment, or two equal half payments. Property tax collection dates for 2020 are as follows:

  • First half due: postmarked Monday, March 2
  • Second half due: postmarked, Monday, June 15

  • Full payment due: postmarked, Thursday, April 30

Interest attaches to late payments on the 1st of each month. Postmarks do not apply on other months of the year; payments must be received prior to the end of the month to avoid an additional month’s interest. Partial payments are not accepted.

You do not need to receive a tax notice to be liable for your property taxes. Tax notices are mailed at the end of January. This is the only notice you will receive during the year.  If you do not receive it, please call the Treasurer’s Office and we will send you a duplicate notice.

The Treasurer’s Office does not send tax notices to escrow companies or to banks. However, they usually request this information from us. Please check with your bank to determine if they will be paying your property taxes on your behalf. The Treasurer’s office will refund duplicate payments to the party who pays second, and will retain the initial payment received.