SO Banner
The La Plata County Sheriff's Office employs highly trained officers and civilian employees whose mission is to provide service and emergency assistance to the citizens of La Plata County.

The Sheriff's Office is organized into two main Divisions, Detentions and Operations, which are supported by an Administration Division.  The largest Division in La Plata County Sheriff's Office is the Detention Division which manages the Detention Center and Alternatives to Incarceration.  The Operations Division manages Patrol, Criminal Investigations, Special Investigations and Special Operations.  The Administration Division handles Recruitment, Training, Records, Evidence and Property, Civil Process, and Victim Resources.

In addition to their regular duties, department personnel are also actively involved in community outreach, crime awareness programs and specialized rescue teams.

For more information about the emergency and non-emergency services that the La Plata County Sheriff's Office offers, stop by the department main offices located at 742 Turner Dr., Monday through Friday between 8:00 a.m. and 4:30 p.m., or call 247-1157.